Quick answer
How do registrars handle a transfer out in 2026?
As of 19 October 2026, 11 of 18 registrars show the auth code on screen, and 11 document a way to approve early. Only 4 document an opt-out from the 60-day contact-change lock. None of the 18 publishes a transfer-out fee or a code validity period. The TransferOffshore Registrar Transfer-Out Index compares all 18, with sources.
The index in figures
| Registrars compared | 18 |
|---|---|
| Date of the check | 19 October 2026, every page read that day |
| Official help page read in full | 13 of 18; 3 more through search excerpts; 2 with no official page found |
| Code shown on screen | 11 of 18 (8 confirmed on a page read in full) |
| Code by email only | 6 of 18 |
| Documented way to approve early | 11 of 18 |
| Contact-change lock opt-out documented | 4 of 18 |
| Own email or site stops on transfer | 3 of 18 (Gandi, Hover, Wix) |
| Crypto accepted, per a page read in 2026 | 6 of 18 |
| Transfer-out fee published | 0 of 18 |
| Code validity period published | 0 of 18 |
| Licence | CC BY 4.0, with a link to this page |
Registrar Transfer-Out Index 2026: the full table
Eight points per registrar, plus a confidence level, from its own help pages unless marked. "Search excerpt" = the official page did not load and we read its search-engine excerpt. "Secondary" = third-party source. ".com" prices are regular prices from domainoffer.net (secondary), without promo codes. Each name links to its step-by-step guide.
| Registrar | Code delivery | Approve early | Contact-change lock opt-out | Specific holds | DNS or email that stops | Crypto accepted | .com transfer / renewal | Confidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GoDaddy | Screen + email | "Approve Transfer"; else up to 7 days (search excerpt) | Yes (search excerpt) | Domain Protection to none; 120-day bundle lock | Not stated | No (official list) | $12.99 / $22.99 | High |
| Namecheap | Email to registrant | Not documented | Yes, by agreement | ccTLDs renewed 12+ days before expiry | Not stated | BTC (search excerpt) | $11.48 / $18.48 | High |
| Cloudflare | Screen | Dashboard approve | Yes, skip option | 30-day lock after account move | Cloudflare NS required; zone after move undocumented | None found | $10.46 / $10.46 | High |
| Porkbun | Screen | "Approve Transfer Out" | Unverified | Grace-period names need support | Not stated | USDC | $11.08 / $11.08 | High |
| Squarespace | Email (within 24 h) | Tucows names: confirm link | Not stated | Only newest code valid; DNSSEC off | Records not kept; MX to redo | Unverified | Unverified | High |
| Wix | Email to registrant | Not documented | Unverified | Owner or paying Admin only | Site disconnected; business email | Unverified | $7.90 / $21.35 | High |
| Hostinger | Screen | Not documented | Unverified | DNSSEC off; 12-hour relock rule | Not stated | CoinGate (2021 post) | $9.99 / $19.99 | High |
| IONOS | Screen, after a delay | Not documented | Unverified | 60 days in your name, 8 TLDs | Not stated | Unverified | $9.50 / $20.00 | High |
| OVHcloud | Screen | Confirm email | Unverified | Protection back on after 7 days | Not stated | Unverified | $9.20 / $16.49 | High |
| Gandi | Screen | Email link | Unverified | Reseller domains via reseller | Gandi Mail stops; data deleted after 7 days | BTC, ETH, BCH (search excerpt) | $11.00 / $38.38 (gandi.net, US, before tax) | High |
| Dynadot | Screen | Confirm email | Unverified | Account lock; aftermarket locks | Not stated | BTC, USDC, USDT (search excerpt) | $10.88 / $10.88 | High |
| NameSilo | Email to admin contact | Transfer manager (search excerpt) | Unverified | 60-day lock not liftable by support | Unverified | Via Nicky (search excerpt) | Unverified | Medium |
| Network Solutions | Email to registrant | Not documented | Discretionary (search excerpt) | 30-day lock after password reset | No DNS edits during transfer | Unverified | $10.99 / $22.99 | High |
| Name.com | Screen (search excerpt) | Support expedite | Article exists, not read | Code "unavailable" for 60 days | Export DNS first | Unverified | Unverified | Medium |
| Spaceship | Screen (secondary) | Email approve (secondary) | Unverified | No expediting after expiry | Disclaimer shown (secondary) | BTC (search excerpt) | $9.68 / $10.18 | Low |
| Hover | Screen (search excerpt) | Owner email link | Yes, checkbox | 60-day lock not liftable early | Hover email; no NS change during transfer | Unverified | $18.99 / $18.99 | High |
| Njalla | Unverified | Unverified | Unverified | Njalla is registrant of record | Unverified | Yes (secondary) | €15 / €15 | Low |
| Epik | Email (search excerpt) | Unverified | Unverified | Unlocking may reset the code | Unverified | BTC in 2016 (secondary) | $15.99 / $15.99 | Medium |
| TransferOffshore | Code free, from your account, at any time | Not applicable (gaining side) | Not applicable | No exit fee | Nameservers kept by default | BTC, USDT, USDC, ETH, SOL, LTC | $12.49 / $12.49 | Own prices |
Prices checked on
Prices in USD, regular price, from domainoffer.net on 19 October 2026 (secondary), except Gandi (confirmed on its US price page, before tax) and Njalla (its euro price). NameSilo's page refused our check, so its price is left out. Check prices on each registrar's site. Verisign raises the .com wholesale fee on 1 November 2026, so most .com prices will move.
How was the index built?
We read the transfer-out help pages of 18 registrars on 19 October 2026, using free web access only. For each one we recorded the same points, one per column of the table. They cover code delivery, early approval, the opt-out, holds, DNS impact, crypto and .com prices. The menu labels are in each registrar guide.
Every cell carries its source quality:
- Official: the registrar's help page was read in full.
- Search excerpt: the page returned an error or did not render, so we read its search-engine excerpt.
- Secondary: another registrar's guide, a forum or an encyclopedia.
- Unverified: no page we read confirmed it.
The confidence column sums this up. High means the main steps come from an official page read in full (13 registrars). Medium means search excerpts carry key facts (3). Low means no official page was found (Spaceship and Njalla). The .com prices come from one aggregator snapshot, domainoffer.net, and stay secondary; Gandi's were confirmed on its own price page.
What are the key findings?
1. Most registrars show the code on screen. 11 of 18 display it in the dashboard; 8 of those were confirmed on a page read in full. Six send it by email only: Namecheap, Squarespace, Wix, NameSilo, Network Solutions and Epik. GoDaddy does both.
2. The email goes to a contact, not to your login. Namecheap, Squarespace, Wix and Network Solutions write to the registrant contact; NameSilo writes to the administrative contact. An outdated contact email is the most common reason a code never arrives.
3. Early approval is documented at 11 of 18. Four use a dashboard control (GoDaddy, Cloudflare, Porkbun, NameSilo). Six use an email link (Gandi, OVHcloud, Dynadot, Hover, Squarespace for Tucows names, Spaceship per a secondary guide). Name.com expedites through support.
4. Two windows run longer than ICANN's 5 calendar days. GoDaddy states up to seven days. Squarespace says the whole move can take up to 15 days. A secondary guide gives Spaceship 5 business days.
5. Only 4 of 18 document a contact-change opt-out. GoDaddy, Namecheap, Cloudflare and Hover do. Network Solutions says a waiver is at its discretion. For the other 12 registrars we found nothing either way.
6. Three registrars stop their own services at once. Gandi Mail stops and its data is deleted after 7 days. Hover disconnects its email. Wix disconnects the site, and business email stops unless the MX records are re-added.
7. For 10 registrars we found nothing on DNS after the move. Only 7 address DNS or email at all, and Spaceship shows a disclaimer, per a secondary source. Cloudflare requires its own nameservers while it holds the domain, and does not document what happens to the zone after.
8. Renewal costs more than transfer at 9 of 15 priced registrars. The gap is widest at Gandi ($11.00 against $38.38, confirmed on gandi.net's US price page, before tax) and Wix ($7.90 against $21.35). Six charge the same for both: Cloudflare, Porkbun, Dynadot, Hover, Njalla and Epik.
What does no registrar publish?
Three things are missing from all 18 sets of help pages we read.
- Code validity. No registrar states how long its auth code stays valid. Squarespace says only the newest code works; Namecheap says codes are updated from time to time; Epik warns that unlocking may reset the code. ICANN's adopted Transfer Policy Review would make codes valid for 14 days and single use, but no effective date is published.
- Exit fees. No page states a transfer-out fee, and none states that leaving is free. The only fee claims we found concern Squarespace, from third-party sites, with conflicting amounts ($20 or $75). We treat them as unverified.
- DNS after the move. Most registrars describe how to get the code. Few say what happens to the DNS zone, email forwarding or web forwarding they host once the domain is gone.
The practical rule follows: copy every DNS record before you request a code, and request the code last.
How does TransferOffshore compare on the same points?
We are the gaining side, so the approval columns do not apply to us. On the points that do, the auth code is free, from your account, at any time, and there is no exit fee. Current nameservers are kept by default when a domain comes in. A .com transfer costs $12.49 and adds one year; renewal costs the same $12.49. Payment is in crypto only, with no ID. The full grid is on the price list.
How can I reuse this data?
The index is published under CC BY 4.0. You may copy, adapt and republish it, including commercially, if you credit "TransferOffshore Registrar Transfer-Out Index 2026" with a link to this page. Please keep the check date, 19 October 2026, next to any figure you quote, because registrars change their pages often.
A suggested citation: "Registrar Transfer-Out Index 2026, TransferOffshore, checked 19 October 2026, CC BY 4.0."
Transfer-Out Index: FAQ
Which registrars show the auth code on screen?
Eleven of the 18: GoDaddy, Cloudflare, Porkbun, Hostinger, IONOS, OVHcloud, Gandi, Dynadot, Name.com, Spaceship and Hover. Eight of these were confirmed on an official page read in full on 19 October 2026. GoDaddy also emails the code. Name.com and Hover rest on search excerpts, Spaceship on a secondary guide.
Which registrars let you skip the 60-day contact-change lock?
Four document it: GoDaddy, Namecheap, Cloudflare and Hover, as of 19 October 2026. Network Solutions says a waiver is at its discretion. Name.com has an opt-out article we could not read. For the other 12, we found no statement either way, so plan as if the lock applies.
Is a transfer out free at these registrars?
We cannot say. None of the 18 publishes a transfer-out fee, and none states that leaving is free. Third-party sites claim a Squarespace fee of $20 or $75; the claims conflict and are unverified. ICANN rules do forbid holding back the code over a payment dispute.
How often is the index updated?
Each row carries the date of its check, 19 October 2026 for this edition. Registrars change their help pages and prices without notice, and Verisign raises the .com wholesale fee on 1 November 2026. Check a registrar's own page before acting on any single cell.
Why are some cells marked unverified?
Because we only record what a page we read confirms. Some official pages returned errors (NameSilo, Epik), did not render (Name.com) or could not be fetched (Njalla). In those cases we used search excerpts or secondary sources, and labelled them, rather than guess.
Sources (all read 19 October 2026) (22)
- Transfer Policy — ICANN (2026-10-19)
- Gandi .com prices (United States, before tax) gandi.net/en-US/domain/tld/com — Gandi (2026-10-19)
- Transfer Policy Review: Final Report (4 Feb 2025) — ICANN GNSO (2026-10-19)
- Transfer my domain away from GoDaddy godaddy.com/en/help/transfer-my-domain-away-from-godaddy-3560 — GoDaddy (2026-10-19)
- How do I transfer a domain from Namecheap to another registrar? namecheap.com/support/knowledgebase/article.aspx/258/84/how-do-i-transfer-a-domain-from-namecheap-to-another-registrar — Namecheap (2026-10-19)
- Transfer out from Cloudflare — Cloudflare (2026-10-19)
- How to Transfer a Domain From Porkbun to Another Registrar kb.porkbun.com/article/27-how-to-transfer-domain-from-porkbun-to-another-registrar — Porkbun (2026-10-19)
- Transferring a domain away from Squarespace — Squarespace (2026-10-19)
- Transferring Your Wix Domain Away from Wix — Wix (2026-10-19)
- How to transfer your domain out of Hostinger hostinger.com/support/?p=17541 — Hostinger (2026-10-19)
- Transferring a Domain from IONOS to Another Provider ionos.com/help/domains/transferring-your-domain-away-from-ionos-to-another-provider/transferring-a-domain-from-11-ionos-to-another-provider — IONOS (2026-10-19)
- Transfer a domain name to another registrar — OVHcloud (2026-10-19)
- Frequent Questions: Domain Transfers docs.gandi.net/en/domain_names/faq/transfers.html — Gandi (2026-10-19)
- Transfer away dynadot.com/help/question/transfer-away — Dynadot (2026-10-19)
- How to transfer away (search excerpt) namesilo.com/support/v2/articles/account-options/how-to-transfer-away — NameSilo (2026-10-19)
- Transfer out of Network Solutions networksolutions.com/help/article/transfer-out-of-network-solutions — Network Solutions (2026-10-19)
- Transfer away from name.com (search excerpt) name.com/support/articles/205188898-transfer-away-from-name-com — Name.com (2026-10-19)
- Transfer domain from Spaceship to Porkbun (secondary) kb.porkbun.com/article/253-transfer-domain-from-spaceship-to-porkbun — Porkbun (2026-10-19)
- Transferring your domain away from Hover support.hover.com/support/solutions/articles/201000064729 — Hover (2026-10-19)
- Njalla (secondary) — Wikipedia (2026-10-19)
- How to transfer domains away from Epik (search excerpt) epik.com/support/how-to-transfer-domains-away-from-epik — Epik (2026-10-19)
- .com prices by registrar (secondary) — domainoffer.net (2026-10-19)
Leaving one of these 18 registrars?
Step-by-step guides for each, then one form: name and code, up to 20 per request, nameservers kept, paid in crypto.